Blue jeans baby

Can you please dress like a woman for a change?

My boyfriend proclaimed while I pulled up my boyfriend jeans, accompanied by a elbow length sleeved boat neck black t-shirt. Sure, it was date night but the weather was overcast, and I’ll be damned if I can be bothered getting dolled up on a Tuesday night. To be quite honest I do dress like a woman; my skinny jeans are on call almost daily and I wear a healthy amount of dresses, but that’s not to say I’m going to start wearing pink headbands to prove my XX chromosomes.

I’m in love with my boyfriend…jeans. 

It made me remember the first time I considered wearing boyfriend jeans. It was at Topshop in 2012, when I purchased my first pair. I felt unusual, and unsure about how much I would wear my new purchase…They aren’t flattering, and heck I don’t feel sexy wearing them, I feel down right casual and under dressed.  Ever since 2004 rolled around, I had disowned my once loved flared jeans in search for a skinny low rise fit and vowed never to wear flares again. Who did I think I was?

Two years down the track I can confess that I feel quite differently about boyfriend jeans. They are flattering, and sexy too! Because at the end of the day, I find that the most understated, undone looks are the most beautiful. Almost to the point where I feel ever so uncomfortable in a dress that can be a little too short and a little too revealing. I’ve passed the 18 mark and all the expectations that come with it (hallelujah).

So that was that, I put on a pair of my Swedish Hasbeens, grabbed my bag and walked out the door. And I’d never felt better.

sara-donaldson_harper-and-harley_GAP_basics_boyfriend-jeans_givenchy-obsedia-bag_givenchy-shark-tooth-heels_05harperhaley

photo

Me in NYC over the summer wearing my favourite boyfriend jeans from Anthropologie

photo

photo

Sidenote: I’ll be back in a few years reminiscing about recycling my clogs, too. Heck, you only live once, wear the damn clogs!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

